Author Topic: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [Re-Solved]  (Read 8415 times)

Offline Richard

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 50
  • Enjoying PCLinuxOS.
Have run into a small bump.
Installed and running PCLOS-Xfce-2014.10, up-to-date.
Code: [Select]
[richard@localhost ~]$ inxi -Fz
System:    Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 3.16.3-pclos1 i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.11.3 Distro: PCLinuxOS
Machine:   Mobo: ECS model: H61H2-CM v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 4.6.4 date: 10/21/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Pentium G620 (-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2585 MHz 2: 2540 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.14.6 drivers: v4l,intel
           Resolution: 1440x900@59.89hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Desktop x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 Hewlett-Packard driver: USB Audio
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.16.3-pclos1
Network:   Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 820.2GB (43.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD5000AAKX size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdc model: Mobile_Drive_XXS size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 18G used: 11G (62%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 3.17GB used: 0.10GB (3%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 241 Uptime: 2:51 Memory: 1225.0/1963.2MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.1.96

Installed Krusader and all of its dependencies + kate via Synaptic.
Krusader runs fine, but am unable to find how to execute it as root
from within the Krusader menu. Have gksu installed.

Kdesu which usually works doesn't seem to be available from the repo.

Krusader will run as root when executed from console with
Code: [Select]
$ gksu krusader
Just thought perhaps someone has solved this already.
It's not a great problem and work-around-able,
but I wonder where kdesu is? Is it no longer used in KDE-4.xx?

regards,
Richard.

Logged
ECS, H61H2-CM; Intel Pentium G620, 2GiB, Aud, Vid
Acer Aspire One & EeePC, Atom N270, 1GiB
PCLinuxOS-x32-Lxde/Xfce w/grub2

Offline Old-Polack

  • Administrator
  • Super Villain
  • **********
  • Posts: 17969
  • ----IOFLU----
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2014, 11:48:07 PM »
Kdesu is part of the kde-runtime-4.13.3-1pclos2014 package.
Logged
Old-Polack

Of what use be there for joy, if not for the sharing thereof?



Lest we forget...

Offline Ika

  • PCLinuxOS Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3278
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce?
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2014, 07:22:28 AM »
So it opens as root with gksu... Do you have it in a launcher in the panel? If so, right click on the launcher->Properties->Select Krusader->Edit.
Post the output from the Command line.
Logged
Personal built desktop
AMD x8 FX 8350 Eight Core 4.00 GHz
Gigabyte AM3+ 970A D3 ATX/4DDR3/6SATA3
24 GB RAM DDR3 (2x8)
Palit Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual 2 GB GDDR5

Offline Richard

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 50
  • Enjoying PCLinuxOS.
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce?
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2014, 02:04:49 PM »
Thanks for your suggestions.
@Ika: launcher is OK.
@Old-Polack: kde-runtime-4.13.3-1pclos2014 is installed, which got me thinking that it must be installed somewhere? I had tried it as /usr/bin/kdesu where I used to find it.

So, running
Code: [Select]
kdesu krusader I get the following:
Quote
The /usr/bin/kdesu path is incorrect, /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/kdesu used instead.
Doh...and using that path in the Krusader config starts krusader as root.

Is that little extra bit of info a characteristic of PCLOS? Really nice.

Thanks for your comments and suggestions.

Richard. 

Logged
ECS, H61H2-CM; Intel Pentium G620, 2GiB, Aud, Vid
Acer Aspire One & EeePC, Atom N270, 1GiB
PCLinuxOS-x32-Lxde/Xfce w/grub2

Offline Ika

  • PCLinuxOS Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3278
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [solved]
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2014, 04:37:26 PM »
Quote
@Ika: launcher is OK.

I know the launcher is OK. I just wanted to offer you a tip how to create a Krusader launcher which opens it directly in root mode... (I don't use it but it should work it as it works for Thunar or Dolphin...)
Logged
Personal built desktop
AMD x8 FX 8350 Eight Core 4.00 GHz
Gigabyte AM3+ 970A D3 ATX/4DDR3/6SATA3
24 GB RAM DDR3 (2x8)
Palit Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual 2 GB GDDR5

Offline ⅆα√ℯℂ§

  • Hero Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 6009
  • PCLinuxOS: A revolution in personal computing
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [Solved]
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2014, 05:02:34 AM »
Krusader is a great program, but pulls in a load of KDE dependencies. I would have used emelFM2, which is a very powerful twin-pane "Midnight Commander" type File Manager, but does not bring in the KDE Kitchen Sink. The instructions for starting it in Root mode are much the same.
Logged
PCLinuxOS has no wealthy sponsors and can only survive with your donations! Don't wait it might be too late.

Running PCLinuxOS on Pentium G4600 with 16Gb Ram using Asus H110i-Plus Mobo and 2TB SSD in M350 case (Chimpbox)
Also Lenovo B50-45 Laptop with SSD upgrade.

Offline Richard

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 50
  • Enjoying PCLinuxOS.
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [Solved]
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2014, 06:38:45 PM »
Thanks Ika. I was thinking about the normal one, but you are right, that would work as a direct loader as root. After I found where kdesu was hiding it was easy to fix.

@Ɗα√ϵς§, emelFM2 is a great prog and I haven't used it for a while. I suppose I'm partial to Krusader. It helped me make the change from Windows in 2000. I started using it before it made it to version 1, then helped with their documentation and proofing until I fell out of love with early KDE-4. I'll install an instance of emelFM2 to see how it goes. I'm always looking for something to replace Krusader so I don't have to pull in all those dependencies. I really try to use Thunar as much as possible but there are some things it just won't do as well, even though the custom actions are great.

Thanks again, to all.
Logged
ECS, H61H2-CM; Intel Pentium G620, 2GiB, Aud, Vid
Acer Aspire One & EeePC, Atom N270, 1GiB
PCLinuxOS-x32-Lxde/Xfce w/grub2

Offline Ika

  • PCLinuxOS Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3278
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [Solved]
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2014, 08:57:32 PM »
Richard

The ifes was to create a (separate) launcher for a root Krusader avoiding the need to open a terminal, something like you have for Thunar and Thunar - Root.  Dut if you're OK so, then is OK. :)
Logged
Personal built desktop
AMD x8 FX 8350 Eight Core 4.00 GHz
Gigabyte AM3+ 970A D3 ATX/4DDR3/6SATA3
24 GB RAM DDR3 (2x8)
Palit Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti StormX Dual 2 GB GDDR5

Offline ⅆα√ℯℂ§

  • Hero Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 6009
  • PCLinuxOS: A revolution in personal computing
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [Solved]
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2014, 06:59:11 AM »
There's also "xfe". This is deceptively powerful. By default, it bears a resemblance to the older versions of Windows File Manager, but there are so many view modes, including "tree and two panes", and quite a few settings you can adjust. I find myself using Thunar mostly, but there are times when xfe and emelfm2 can get certain things done more effectively.

As for Krusader vs. Emelfm2, I've made more use of Emelfm2 than I ever did with Krusader, but that's probably because Konqueror/Dolphin are far more powerful than Thunar, especially when it comes to creating symlinks and shortcuts.
Logged
PCLinuxOS has no wealthy sponsors and can only survive with your donations! Don't wait it might be too late.

Running PCLinuxOS on Pentium G4600 with 16Gb Ram using Asus H110i-Plus Mobo and 2TB SSD in M350 case (Chimpbox)
Also Lenovo B50-45 Laptop with SSD upgrade.

Offline Richard

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 50
  • Enjoying PCLinuxOS.
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [Re-Re-Solved]
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2015, 07:16:21 PM »
Apologies for reviving old threads,
but the truth has changed.  ::)

Yesterday, now Today, I found that one must go to
Konfigurator > Dependencies > General
and then in the kdesu line,
---> /usr/lib/kde4/libexec/kdesu
in order to start a root Krusader from the Krusader menu.

And now it works. Now it is SOLVED!   ;D
Logged
ECS, H61H2-CM; Intel Pentium G620, 2GiB, Aud, Vid
Acer Aspire One & EeePC, Atom N270, 1GiB
PCLinuxOS-x32-Lxde/Xfce w/grub2

Offline Richard

  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 50
  • Enjoying PCLinuxOS.
Re: How start Krusader as root from Krusader menu in Xfce? [Re-Solved]
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2015, 01:57:36 PM »
I feel it is apropos to post here.
I have switched to Double Commander v0.6.1-beta from
http://doublecmd.sourceforge.net/
http://sourceforge.net/p/doublecmd/wiki/Download/

I have removed Krusader and friends. The only KDE left is K3b.

Logged
ECS, H61H2-CM; Intel Pentium G620, 2GiB, Aud, Vid
Acer Aspire One & EeePC, Atom N270, 1GiB
PCLinuxOS-x32-Lxde/Xfce w/grub2