Ok, I booted to live cd, I chose to install the os on one of four drives that were connected at the time.
I chose to create "custom disk partitioning" on a drive that was blank. In the partitioning tool, I set
the partitions I wanted on the drive, but saw three other tabs with existing partitions. I was tired and
unfamiliar with the software and did not realize that these were my other drives and not part of the
drive that I was trying to work with and I cleared them. after clicking done, the messages started popping
up that each drive would be formatted during the process. As soon as I realized my mistake, I stopped the
process and rebooted. I then installed the system on the right drive and checked the other drives to find
that I could no longer access them and they show one large partition with nothing on them
. Knowing that
there could be recoverable data on the drives, I have not messed with them since.