Some lost files can be recovered with a program like photorec.
I'm not at the moment running Full Monty but to make sure that nothing is deleted accidentally in other KDE setups you could first check that "Show 'Delete' command" is not ticked in Dolphin's settings ("Settings"->"Configure Dolphin..."->"General"->"Context Menu"). That will completely remove "Delete" from the right-click menu.
Then check "Settings"->"Configure Dolphin..."->"General"->"Behaviour"->"Ask For Confirmation When"->"Deleting files or folders". It should be ticked, while "Moving files or folders to wastebin" should not. If they are both checked you are more likely to ignore the warning dialogue, and it's only "Delete" that is dangerous.
You can still delete a file or a folder by holding down Shift while hitting Delete on the keyboard. You'll get a warning, but to be on the safe side might even want to remove that shortcut in System settings ("Configure Your Desktop").
« Last Edit: December 28, 2012, 07:23:33 PM by Bald Brick »
Feed the trolls!
They need it!
AMD Athlon 7450 Dual-Core Processor, 7.80 GiB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 120/PCIe/SSE2, OpenGL/ES-version: 3.3 0 NVIDIA 295.40, SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) soundcard, Logitech B500 webcam, SAA7146 DVB card, HDDs: Seagate 250824AS, Western Digital WD10EAVS-00D